Return to Headlines

San Elizario ISD Joins Month of Unity & Healing


SAN ELIZARIO, TEXAS – The San Elizario Independent School District (SEISD) has joined the El Paso County and the United Way of El Paso by holding two Unity and Healing Events as the 2nd anniversary of the August 3rd Mass Shooting at the Cielo Vista Walmart approaches.  

The first Unity and Healing event was a Unity & Healing 1 Mile Walk at the San Elizario High School Eagle Stadium.  The second Unity & Healing event was a Tree Planting Ceremony at the SEISD Alarcon Ball Park.   “We want our employees to gather for a mile walk in order to honor and remember the lives we lost on August 3rd. This event will also allow us with the opportunity to kick off the new year in a spirit of unity and healing as we begin to receive our students for the new school year” said Ms. Blanca Cruz, the SEISD Director of Human Resources.   

The district previously planted 22 trees in honor of each life lost on August 3, 2019.  However, the 23rd tree being planted this year is in honor of Guillermo “Memo” Garcia who had been hospitalized since the incident occurred and subsequently succumbed to his injuries.  

The Alarcon Ball Park will have 23 trees that will forever honor and remember the precious 23 lives lost.  The San Elizario ISD and members of the community have a beautiful walkway that extends around the park.  

Those visiting Alarcon Ball Park will be able to enjoy a peaceful and reflective walk. The trees are in honor of the following:


  • Leonardo Campos Jr. 
  • Maribel Hernandez 
  • David Alvah Johnson 
  • Ivan Filiberto Manzano 
  • Jordan Anchondo 
  • Andre Pablo Anchondo 
  • Arturo Benavidez 
  • Javier Amir Rodriguez 
  • Sara Esther Regalado Moriel 
  • Adolfo Cerros Henandez 
  • Gloria Irma Marquez 
  • Maria Eugenia Legarreta Rothe 
  • Elsa Mendoza de La Mora 
  • Juan de Dios Velazquez Chairez 
  • Maria Flores 
  • Raul Flores 
  • Margie Reckard 
  • Alexander Gerhard Hoffman 
  • Teresa Sanchez 
  • Angelina Silva Englisbee 
  • Jorge Calvo Garcia 
  • Luis Alfonso Juarez 
  • Guillermo “Memo” Garcia