Return to Headlines

Superintendent Elected President of the Texas Council of Women School Executives (TCWSE)

Superintendent Elected Texas Council of Women School Executives



SAN ELIZARIO, TEXAS – At the annual Texas Council of Women Executives (TCWSE) Conference entitled Grit Grace and Pearls, Dr. Jeannie Meza-Chavez, the superintendent of the San Elizario Independent School District, was elected President of the Texas Council Women School Executives (TCWSE). Over 550 women from across the state of Texas gathered at the annual TCWSE Conference in Austin, Texas. As President-Elect, Dr. Meza-Chavez served as this year’s conference chair.

According to the TCWSE website, the TCWSE is a professional organization in Texas that focuses on supporting and advancing women in educational leadership roles. The organization aims to provide opportunities for educational women leaders to network, collaborate, and develop professionally. The annual conference had three general sessions with the following speakers: Montserrat Garibay, the Assistant Deputy Secretary & Director for the Office of English Language Acquisition; Sereka Barlow, the Chief Executive Officer for the YWCA El Paso, and Jeni Neatherlin, Superintendent for the Granger Independent School District. Other activities included a networking reception, focus sessions, a silent auction, a superintendent career panel, door prizes, a group photo, and a mentoring panel.

The TCWSE held its executive board elections, where the other officers elected are the President-Elect, Dr. Martha Salazar-Zamora, superintendent for the Tomball Independent School District, Vice President, Sonja Brown, Government Affairs Coordinator from the Lancaster Independent School District, Secretary, Kristin Brown, Superintendent for the Lake Dallas Independent School District, Historian, Kristen Walls, Executive Director of College and Career for the Tyler Independent School District, and Dr. Lindsey Pollock, Immediate Past President, the Executive Director for the Lian Dante Foundation. The organization receives assistance from Debbie O’Donnell, the Executive Assistant / Coordinator of Membership Services and Registration. The organization has a Regional Advisory Committee composed of 20 regional representatives from across the state who serve to connect regional TCWSE local chapters to the state. A Committee of Past Presidents also supports the TCWSE organization.

Dr. Jeannie Meza-Chavez is the first woman from the El Paso area elected to this position. Of the recognition, Meza-Chavez states, “Women before me provided a solid foundation, and I pay it forward because I am the daughter of Ana Maria Meza. The sisterhood of TCWSE allows us to serve those who need us and honor those who have sacrificed so that we can all excel. There is room for all of us to lead.”

The TCWSE organization will be celebrating 40 years in 2025. Next year’s conference theme is Fierce, Fabulous & Forty. The annual conference will take place in Austin, beginning with an evening network reception on Friday, January 24, 2025, and will run through Sunday morning, January 26, 2025